Sunbolt Readalong week 3 – Memories of Ash

It’s time for week 3 of the Wyrd and Wonder readalong!! We started in Week 1 with Sunbolt and now we’re into the middle section of the sequel, Memories of Ash. I’m loving these books so far and it’s been reading this as part of a group and seeing everyone’s thoughts.

The readalong is hosted here by A Dance With Books and the questions for this week are here by bookforager.

Week 3: Chapters 12 to 22 inclusive – Questions

HITOMI HAS LIED, STOLEN AND TRESPASSED THIS WEEK TO ACHIEVE HER GOALS. HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT SOME OF THE THINGS SHE’S CHOSEN TO DO?

I think that everything she’s done to get her goals within sight was entirely reasonable. I love her loyalty to Stormwind and the measures she’s willing to take to achieve her ends. She’s endlessly resourceful!

WHAT DID YOU MAKE OF HITOMI’S REUNION WITH THE DEGATH SIBLINGS AND WITH KENTA? WHAT DO YOU THINK LIFE HAS BEEN LIKE FOR THE SURVIVING DEGATHS SINCE WE MET THEM LAST?

I was surprised to see the elder sister there with her siblings given her previous actions, but very glad that Hitomi got a reunion with Kenta. I liked the subterfuge from the son, given everything that they’ve now been through an overabundance of caution is sensible.

I think life for them has been harsh since the deaths of their parents, I can’t imagine that anyone has been kind of helpful as Blackflame was to blame for everything and then added in the trauma that the youngest sister went through it’s impressive that they were even willing to someone inside their home.

THE PHOENIX REALLY WANTS HITOMI’S HELP WITH THE BURNT LANDS. WHY DO YOU THINK THIS IS? AND DO YOU THINK SHE CAN ACHIEVE WHAT THE PHOENIX WANTS?

Hitomi is special for a lot of reasons (mage of fire and stone?) and the phoenix can sense at least something about it the fact that she’s not a regular promise. I think she can achieve huge things with a little guidance and he knows that, so he’s willing to go out of his way to help her because he knows that it’ll help him in the long run. He the character that I want to know the most about, along with the Burnt Lands. Very excited to see where this ends up!

WE NOW UNDERSTAND THE CONNECTION BETWEEN VAL AND HITOMI A BIT BETTER. WHAT WERE YOUR REACTION TO THIS REVELATION? WHERE DO YOU THINK THIS MIGHT LEAD?

Yay!! I love being proved right when I try and guess something. I love Val and I love how protective he is of Hitomi, I am endlessly curious to find out what happens next and what it means for the two of them together. I’m hopeful that maybe in the next book we get to see them together again but maybe that’s just wishful thinking.

AND HITOMI HAS BEEN CAUGHT! CARE TO MAKE ANY PREDICTIONS ABOUT WHAT’S COMING NEXT FOR OUR PLUCKY HEROINE?

I have no idea what’s coming next, maybe hoping for her mum to actually be useful and prove that she’s with Blackflame under duress but that seems unlikely. I’m hoping that things don’t tie themselves up too neatly as that always seems a little like lazy writing, especially in fantasy books but we’ll see. I’m hoping that a daring rescue happens or something with consequences. I guess we’ll see this week!!

One response to “Sunbolt Readalong week 3 – Memories of Ash”

  1. Wyrd & Wonder Round Up: Week 4 – The Book Nook avatar

    […] Dance With Books | BookWyrm Knits | Foxes and Fairy Tales | Lost in the Narrative | There’s Always Room for One […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Well, you’ve made it this far!

Here are posts about books, a little about life, a little about my wife and cat, a little about my writing, and mostly just the things that my actual friends don’t care as much as me to talk about.

Let’s connect

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started